Stubborn Thumbnails

Written by Allen Wyatt (last updated November 15, 2025)

Alan is having a problem with the way that Word starts on his system. Every time he opens a document, the page thumbnails show up at the left side of the window. He keeps closing the area (View | Thumbnails), but the area still shows up the next time he opens a document.

Because this problem is occurring on all the documents you open, it is probably related to something in the Normal.dot template, which is the default template for Word. Unfortunately (as Alan is finding out), simply turning off the thumbnails is not enough to trigger the saving of the template; there needs to be some other change done in order to make the save. With that in mind, you could follow these steps:

  1. Start Word. You should have a blank document on the screen.
  2. Close Thumbnails from the View menu in order to close the thumbnails area.
  3. Choose Options from the Tools menu. Word displays the Options dialog box.
  4. Make sure the View tab is displayed. (See Figure 1.)
  5. Figure 1. The View tab of the Options dialog box.

  6. Change the status of the Startup Task Pane check box. (This action is enough to trigger the save; you don't really care about the setting at this point, but you need to make the change to get the desired action.)
  7. Click OK. The Options dialog box goes away.
  8. Hold down the Shift key as you click on the File menu and choose Save All.
  9. Click Cancel when you are asked if you want to save the original, blank document.
  10. Click Yes when you are asked if you want to save the Normal.dot template. (This is what you really wanted to do all along.)
  11. Repeat steps 3 through 6, if desired, to set the Startup Task Pane check box to how you want it.

WordTips is your source for cost-effective Microsoft Word training. (Microsoft Word is the most popular word processing software in the world.) This tip (349) applies to Microsoft Word 2002 and 2003.

Author Bio

Allen Wyatt

With more than 50 non-fiction books and numerous magazine articles to his credit, Allen Wyatt is an internationally recognized author. He is president of Sharon Parq Associates, a computer and publishing services company. ...

MORE FROM ALLEN

Dictionaries for Microsoft Word

Word allows you to develop custom dictionaries or use custom dictionaries that have been developed by other people. ...

Discover More

Random Width and Height Changes

Have you ever been using a workbook, only to open it one day and find that Excel has changed the height of your rows or ...

Discover More

Safely Relocking Forms

In order to use a form in Word, it must be protected. This means that you cannot make any changes to the form, even if ...

Discover More

Do More in Less Time! An easy-to-understand guide to the more advanced features available in the Microsoft 365 version of Word. Enhance the quality of your documents and boost productivity in any field with this in-depth resource. Complete your Word-related tasks more efficiently as you unlock lesser-known tools and learn to quickly access the features you need. Check out Microsoft 365 Word For Professionals For Dummies today!

More WordTips (menu)

Turning Off a Startup Sound

If you hear a sound when you start Word, it is because of some settings within Windows itself. You can use the Control ...

Discover More

Default Units that Change

Word allows you to specify the unit of measurement you would like used in dialog boxes throughout the program. It can get ...

Discover More

Finding a Lost Menu Bar

Once in a while Word can get confused and stop displaying an object you need to fully use Word. If your menu bar suddenly ...

Discover More
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WordTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

View most recent newsletter.

Comments

If you would like to add an image to your comment (not an avatar, but an image to help in making the point of your comment), include the characters [{fig}] (all 7 characters, in the sequence shown) in your comment text. You’ll be prompted to upload your image when you submit the comment. Maximum image size is 6Mpixels. Images larger than 600px wide or 1000px tall will be reduced. Up to three images may be included in a comment. All images are subject to review. Commenting privileges may be curtailed if inappropriate images are posted.

What is nine more than 3?

There are currently no comments for this tip. (Be the first to leave your comment—just use the simple form above!)


This Site

Got a version of Word that uses the menu interface (Word 97, Word 2000, Word 2002, or Word 2003)? This site is for you! If you use a later version of Word, visit our WordTips site focusing on the ribbon interface.

Videos
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WordTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

(Your e-mail address is not shared with anyone, ever.)

View the most recent newsletter.